Franz Ferdinand have released the video for Always Ascending, taken from the new album of the same name available 9th February 2018 on Domino Record Co.

The album’s ten songs are a triumphant recasting of one of our favourite groups, bursting with fresh ideas and vigorous sonic experimentation.

“We wanted this to sound like nothing we made before,”
said the band and after listening to the first moments of the title track it’s obvious that’s what they’ve accomplished.

There have been substitutions, but the team is playing stronger than ever. In case you missed the announcement last year, Nick McCarthy (guitar) left to raise his family and Julian Corrie, a much-loved figure in the Glasgow music scene, joined core members Alex Kapranos, Bob Hardy and Paul Thomson.

With reclusive producer Philippe Zdar (Cassius, Phoenix, ‪Beastie Boys), FF have taken a knife to their old canvas, creating an album that is so foreign in its familiarity it could only be current.

When asked what influences shaped the record, Hardy says “I don’t think we need to mention any,” while Thomson exclaims “Can’t really think of any other than Tarka Daal and McEwans Export.” Kapranos does mention re-discovering Greek composer Yiannis Markopoulos’s interpretations of Cretan music on the Rizitika LP: “Repetitive, trance-inducing, dynamic: my first extra-sensory experiences were from listening to this, before I could walk.”

Exclusive deluxe edition bundle, limited to 1500 globally

Tote bag, signed photo print and a deluxe LP pressed on blue & white marbled 180g vinyl with large booklet and 24” x 24” fold out poster. Comes with MP3 Album Download Card.

Franz Ferdinand


1. Always Ascending

2. Lazy Boy

3. Paper Cages

4. Finally

5. The Academy Award


1. Lois Lane

2. Huck And Jim

3. Glimpse Of Love

4. Feel The Love Go

5. Slow Don’t Kill Me Slow

Leave a Reply

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.