To continue celebrating the Velvet Underground’s 50th anniversary into 2018, Verve Records/UMe is releasing The Velvet Underground, a limited-edition career-spanning box that collects all four of the pioneering band’s studio albums, Velvets collaborator Nico’s debut LP, Chelsea Girl, and a reconstruction of the fabled “lost” 1969 album, making it available on vinyl for the first time.

Velvet Underground's 50th anniversary celebrated with limited box set

The six albums housed in a special black slipcase will be pressed on 180-gram black vinyl and feature stereo mixes and meticulously reproduced original cover art. The box will also include an exclusive 48-page booklet, featuring vintage photos, lyrics and a new foreword penned by founding member Maureen “Moe” Tucker.

Limited to 1000 copies worldwide, the box set, which will be released February 23, is available for pre-order now exclusively at uDiscover.

Assembled by Grammy-winning reissue producer Bill Levenson, The Velvet Underground incorporates six classic records from the band’s vintage heyday including 1967’s The Velvet Underground and Nico, their landmark debut, produced by the band’s mentor Andy Warhol and includes such Velvets classics as Sunday Morning, I’m Waiting for the Man, Venus in Furs and Heroin; Nico’s 1967 full-length solo debut Chelsea Girl, featuring songwriting and instrumental contributions from Velvets members Reed, Cale and Morrison as well as a young Jackson Browne; 1968’s explosive White Light/White Heat, the group’s final album with co-founder Cale; 1969’s relatively restrained, introspective The Velvet Underground; and 1970’s Loaded, which was the band’s commercial breakthrough as well as its final studio album, with such beloved Reed anthems as Sweet Jane and Rock & Roll.

To honor the band’s half a century legacy, Levenson has loving recreated the Velvet Underground’s much-mythologized “lost” album, 1969, specially for this set. Nearly 50 years later, much remains unclear about these mysterious recordings. While there’s been reports that the album was intended to be the band’s fourth record only to be rejected by MGM, it’s also possible they were scrapped by the band or possibly shelved by them for being ahead of its time. Whatever the real story is, these songs, recorded just after their lauded self-titled album, which include many gems like Foggy Notion, Ride Into The Sun, and I Can’t Stand It, help to tell the band’s enigmatic story and shine a light on their creative restlessness and rapid evolution. For this new vinyl recreation, Levenson has assembled the album using 1969 and 2014 mixes. Although these recordings have been previously released, they’ve never been represented on vinyl in this expansive 2LP format. Side four of the second LP is rounded out with bonus tracks recorded in 1968 including Hey Mr. Rain and Stephanie Says.

The Velvet Underground and Nico (March 1967)

Side One

1. Sunday Morning

2. I’m Waiting For The Man

3. Femme Fatale

4. Venus In Furs

5. Run Run Run

6. All Tomorrow’s Parties

Side Two

1. Heroin

2. There She Goes Again

3. I’ll Be Your Mirror

4. The Black Angel’s Death Song

5. European Son


Nico: Chelsea Girl (October 1967)

Side One

1. The Fairest of the Seasons

2. These Days

3. Little Sister

4. Winter Song

5. It Was A Pleasure Then

Side Two

1. Chelsea Girls

2. I’ll Keep It With Mine

3. Somewhere There’s a Feather

4. Wrap Your Troubles In Dreams

5. Eulogy To Lenny Bruce


White Light/White Heat (January 1968)

Side One

1. White Light/White Heat

2. The Gift

3. Lady Godiva’s Operation

4. There She Comes Now

Side Two

1. I Heard Her Call My Name

2. Sister Ray


The Velvet Underground (March 1969)

Side One

1. Candy Says

2. What Goes On

3. Some Kinda Love

4. Pale Blue Eyes

5. Jesus

Side Two

1. Beginning To See The Light

2. I’m Set Free

3. That’s The Story Of My Life

4. The Murder Mystery

5. After Hours


1969 (recorded May – October 1969)

Side One

1. Foggy Notion (original 1969 mix)

2. One Of The Days (2014 mix)

3. Lisa Says (2014 mix)

4. I’m Sticking With You (original 1969 mix)

5. Andy’s Chest (original 1969 mix)

Side Two

1. I Can’t Stand It (2014 mix)

2. She’s My Best Friend (original 1969 mix)

3. We’re Gonna Have A Real Good Time Together (2014 mix)

4. I’m Gonna Move Right In (original 1969 mix)

5. Ferryboat Bill (original 1969 mix)

Side Three

1. Coney Island Steeplechase (2014 mix)

2. Ocean (original 1969 mix)

3. Rock & Roll (original 1969 mix)

4. Ride Into The Sun (2014 mix)

Side Four – Bonus Tracks

1. Hey Mr. Rain (version one)

2. Guess I’m Falling In Love instrumental version)

3. Temptation Inside Your Heart (original mix)

4. Stephanie Says (original mix)

5. Hey Mr. Rain (version two)

6. Beginning To See The Light (early version)


Loaded (November 1970)

Side One

1. Who Loves The Sun

2. Sweet Jane

3. Rock & Roll

4. Cool It Down

5. New Age

Side Two

1. Head Held High

2. Lonesome Cowboy Bill

3. I Found A Reason

4. Train Round The Bend

5. Oh! Sweet Nuthin’

Leave a Reply

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.