American Treasure is the name of the box set full of previously unreleased Tom Petty music that will arrive on September 28, via Reprise.

It will be released in four versions: a deluxe and expanded Super Deluxe 4xCD set featuring 60 tracks and extensive liner notes; a 6xLP vinyl edition; and a standard 2xCD collection featuring 26 highlights.

The special Vinyl Edition will be released on Friday, November 23, but is available for pre-order now.

All newly released recordings on An American Treasure have been mixed by Ryan Ulyate from pristine transfers of the original studio multitrack masters. All 60 recordings have been re-mastered for this collection by Chris Bellman at Bernie Grundman Mastering.

The custom cover artwork for An American Treasure was created by prominent American artist Shepard Fairey from an image of Petty by renowned photographer Mark Seliger.

The box set was announced on the Petty channel on SiriusXM Tuesday. It will feature 60 tracks of unreleased live and studio material. The box set was curated by Petty’s wife Dana York, daughter Adria, Heartbreakers bandmate Mike Campbell, and studio collaborator Ryan Ulate.

Tom Petty died in October 2017 at the age of 66 from an accidental drug overdose. His last solo record was 2006’s Highway Companion. He released Hypnotic Eye with the Heartbreakers in 2014.

Leave a Reply

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.