Release date: February 22, 2019

Soul Asylum

Produced by Bob Mould (Hüsker Dü). Contains 15 bonus tracks, 9 previously unissued. New art, liner notes, plus rare ephemera from the collection of the band’s Dave Pirner. Reissue co-produced by Twin/Tone co-founder Peter Jesperson and Grammy-winning producer Cheryl Pawelski. Soul Asylum first hit the Minneapolis music scene in early 1981. Core members Dave Pirner, Dan Murphy, and Karl Mueller met at local punk rock shows. Coming up in the shadow of formidable bands like Hüsker Dü and The Replacements, who they were all big fans of, was daunting but, ultimately, it inspired them to make a name for themselves. Soul Asylum stood out immediately because of their work ethic and smart, punky hard rock sound. They made four records for hometown label Twin/Tone Records before moving on to the majors; first A&M, then Columbia, where they scored two platinum albums and won a Best Rock Song Grammy® for “Runaway Train.”

Reissue co-produced by Twin/Tone Records co-founder and Replacements manager, Peter Jesperson and Grammy®-winner, Cheryl Pawelski, this expanded reissue of Soul Asylum’s second album, Made To Be Broken, contains 15 bonus tracks, 9 of which are previously unreleased. The packaging provides a stunning array of never before seen photos, artwork, hand-written lyrics and flyers. It also includes an impassioned, thought-provoking, frequently hilarious essay—written by legendary Bay Area music journalist Gina Arnold—that tells the story of how the band’s live show knocked the writer flat and puts Soul Asylum’s lasting importance in perspective.

Leave a Reply

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.