Who Built The Moon?
Vinylradar Rating

Release Date: Nov 24, 2017

Label: Sour Mash Records

Noel is back

THIS IS WAR! As they did in the mid nineties in the brit pop war against Blur when they were at the top of the music world, being one of the most promising bands of the moment (Oasis) now, the two Gallagher brothers are releasing their solo albums in the same month. Undoubtedly, the two of them hope to be over the other in the charts. Now it is the turn for Noel after the successful release (critics and fans) of Liam some weeks ago.

The album starts with ‘Fort Knox’ instrumental song that sets the style for the rest of the album. Strong rhythm section with a wall of sound including echoing guitars, female choirs, bells and other rings, clicks, cows… psychedelia exhuberance.

‘Holy Mountain’ has all the ingredients to be number one, and it is the link between this record and the two first albums of the band.

‘Keep On Reaching’,


Noel Gallagher

This is a solid album, great pop melodies, strong songwriting but with some over production. This may be the most experimental record Noel has ever released. Young fans will find it great, while long time fans can be a little bit disappointed because most of the tracks has a dance oriented production, even remembering Daft Punk. Probably their weakest effort but their most creative album to date.

Highlights: ‘Holy Mountain’, ‘Black & White Sunshine’ and ‘She Taught Me How To Fly ‘.




 1. Fort Knox

2. Holy Mountain

3. Keep on Reaching

4. It’s A Beautiful World

5. She Taught Me How to Fly

6. Be Careful What You Wish For

7. Black & White Sunshine

8. Interlude (Wednesday Part 1)

9. If Love is the Law

10. The Man Who Built the Moon

11. End Credits (Wednesday Part 2)

12. Dead in the Water (Live at RTÉ 2FM Studios, Dublin)

Leave a Reply

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.