Vinylradar has selected this week new releases for you. Enjoy!

-J Mascis: Elastic Days

“Like its predecessors (Sings + Chant for AMMA, 2005; Several Shades of Why, 2011; and Tied to a Star, 2014), Elastic Days was recorded at J’s own Bisquiteen studio. Mascis does almost all his own stunts, although Ken Miauri (who also appeared on Tied to a Star) plays keyboards and there are a few guest vocal spots. These include old mates Pall Jenkins (Black Heart Procession), and Mark Mulcahy (Miracle Legion, etc.), as well as the newly added voice of Zoë Randell (Luluc) among others. But the show is mostly J’s and J’s alone.

Elastic Days brims with great moments. Epic hooks that snare you in surprisingly subtle ways, guitar textures that slide against each other like old lovers, and structures that range from a neo-power-ballad (Web So Dense) to jazzily-canted West Coasty post-psych (Give It Off) to a track that subliminally recalls the keyboard approach of Scott Thurston-era Stooges (Drop Me). The album plays out with a combination of holism and variety that is certain to set many brains ablaze.”

–Byron Coley


Track listing

1. See You At The Movies
2. Web So Dense
3. I Went Dust
4. Sky Is All We Had
5. Picking Out The Seeds
6. Give It Off
7. Drop Me
8. Cut Stranger
9. Elastic Days
10. Sometimes
11. Wanted You Around
12. Everything She Said

– Muse: Simulation Theory

Warner Bros./WB

Simulation Theory, the eighth studio album by Muse, is out now! Co-produced by Rich Costey, Mike Elizondo, Shellback and Timbaland, the new album is available in three formats: Standard (11 tracks), Deluxe (16 tracks), and Super Deluxe (21 tracks). The expanded tracklisting features an acoustic gospel version of Dig Down, the UCLA Bruin Marching Band feature on Pressure, a live version of Thought Contagion, acoustic versions of several tracks, including Something Human and Alternate Reality versions of Algorithm and The Dark Side.


Track listing

1. Algorithm
2. The Dark Side
3. Pressure
4. Propaganda
5. Break It To Me
6. Something Human

1. Thought Contagion
2. Get Up and Fight
3. Blockades
4. Dig Down
5. The Void

– Rays: You Can Get There From Here

Trouble in Mind

Oakland band Rays return to the fray with their second album, You Can Get There From Here, their first release since their eponymous Trouble In Mind debut in 2016.

Rays formed in the fertile crescent of the California Bay Area, a hotbed of musical growth in the past decade, and Rays’ members pull not only from that recent miasma but also from a wealth of Bay Area musical history. You Can Get There From Here represents a turning point for the band, angling their scrappy, post-punk fury into a more refined & melodic pop sensibility, drawing inspiration from UK DIY pop & punk like Dolly Mixture, Cleaners From Venus, Television Personalities & more.


Track listing

1. Fallen Stars
2. The Garden
3. Earthquake
4. To The Fire
5. Veterans 0
6. Yesterday’s Faces
7. Around The Town
8. Anti-Hand Man
9. Subway
10. Work of Art
11. Ray Johnson
12. Before Sunrise

Leave a Reply

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.