Vinylradar has selected the new releases for you. Enjoy!

Paul Weller · ‘A Kind Revolution’ · Parlophone

Paul Weller’s 13th solo studio album ‘A Kind Revolution’ is released this 12th May.

Work began on the new record immediately after finishing 2015’s Saturns Pattern and once again features the full spectrum of Weller’s influences, from rock to R&B, soul to jazz, and funk to folk.

Along with Weller’s touring band faithful Andy Crofts, Ben Gordelier, Steve Cradock and Steve Pilgrim, the new record features appearances from soul legends PP Arnold and Madeleine Bell, Soft Machine’s Robert Wyatt, The Strypes’ guitarist Josh McClorey and none other than Boy George. It was recorded at Weller’s Black Barn Studios HQ and produced and arranged by Jan ‘Stan’ Kybert and Weller himself.

A Kind Revolution is available on CD, special edition 3CD set, 12″ vinyl LP, and limited edition deluxe 10″ vinyl box set, with both the standard and deluxe tracks available for download. Special edition bonuses include instrumentals, alternate versions and remixes.

LP · ‘Lost on You’ · Vagrant

Lost on You is the fourth studio album from the L.A. based singer-songwriter LP.

Executive produced by Mike Del Rio (Christina Aguilera, X Ambassadors) with several tracks co-written by Nate Campany (Tove Lo, Carly Rae Jepsen, Martin Garrix), the album includes 5-previously released tracks from the songstress’ critically acclaimed 2016 EP, Death Valley, including the album’s title track and current single Lost On You, which has gained critical praise from such outlets as Paste, Noisey and Newsweek, who most recently described LP’s vocals as “reminiscent of the gravelly Johnny Cash”.

“I compare songs to beautiful women. A woman walks in the room and she’s beautiful – that’s the melody, if you have a good conversation with her, then you’re like, ‘wow’ and want to keep listening to it. My favourite kind of songs are the ones where you keep discovering things in them over and over”, she told

Elf Power · ‘Twitching in Time’ · Orange Twin

The band release its sixteenth full-length album, “a collection of sometimes exuberant, sometimes wistful lo-fi rock cuts with lots of fuzz and Andrew Rieger’s idiosyncratic voice at the front of it all”, NPR says.

Girlpool · ‘Powerplant’ · Anti-

After a chaotic and informative year spent floating around the East Coast, both bandmates moved home to California at the start of 2017. Girlpool have been seemingly everywhere at once, exploring all the world’s offerings with open minds and notebooks. All the lessons they learned, about the earth and about themselves, are gathered together in their sophomore record and ANTI- debut, Powerplant.

Both bandmates were heavily inspired by Elliott Smith, the Cranberries, the Cocteau Twins, Brian Eno, Arthur Russell, and Graham Nash; the influence of each appear in the record’s deliberate and intricate guitar work (Fast Dust, She Goes By) as well as its embrace of dissonant noise (Corner Store, Soup).

Leave a Reply

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.